ENGAGED!!!!

Moments after the proposal

WE’RE ENGAGED!!!! I am so excited I could burst! Jonathan proposed to me Friday at the Lincoln memorial in DC. It was gorgeous, even though it was pretty cold outside and there were a few tour groups of high school kids cheering us on 🙂 we celebrated with dinner in Georgetown and had a great night.

I have to admit that I knew it was coming. We had been ring shopping a few weeks before and had some great success! The last place we had been to said that the ring we wanted was going to take 3 weeks to get all set and finished (that was on sat feb 20) so that was the time frame I was working with ‘in my mind’. Unfortunately on Thursday Jonathan left his e-mail inbox open on our home computer and I accidentally saw an e-mail he wrote to a friend saying he was planning on asking me on Sunday. He was pretty bummed the surprise was ruined, but said he planned on picking up the ring on Saturday while I was away in NYC for work just for the day.

Friday after lunch Jono told me that he needed to escape the office for the afternoon. No one was around answering his calls and efforts to get work done, so he had to get out before he went stir crazy. He made up some strange story about driving around or going to sports authority….so random. I teased him he should go to the jeweler instead and get my ring. He laughed and told me he called and tried but was told that it wouldn’t re ready until Saturday.  I was suspicious with the sports authority story to being with so I knew to be alert! He picked me up at 5 when I was done with work and we had decided to go to dinner in Georgetown (for our last single night Jono said, although that didn’t make a lot of sense to me either, we’re not single…). On the way into town he suggested we stop at the monuments, as he hadn’t seen them at night. It was freezing, but ok. When we got to the Lincoln Memorial, we noticed there were a few bus loads of high school students touring the area. Dang. Jono kept saying how shocked he was that there were so many people, I was too. Finally we ditched the monument and made our way down to the reflecting pool at the base of the monument. As the high school kids cleared away, he got down on one knee…and the rest is history 🙂 no big speeches, nothing fancy, just Jono, just how I love him.  Just as we hugged and kissed another group of kids approached and started cheering and clapping. Very cute.

We then went for dinner in Georgetown at Pizza Paradiso on M st and had a really relaxed night. It’s strange, but with the engagement official and the visa applied for, I feel a lot more calm. It’s a great feeling.

We’re planning on getting married here in the DC area in October, as long as we can get all visas worked out and timed right. We will also have a celebration in England as soon as Jonathan can travel again, so maybe a few months later. All family and friends are invited to both sides of the pond to celebrate, but we definitely understand if you can’t make the trip 🙂 We will keep you posted with all the details as we get them!

Check out the rest of the pictures from that night here: Engagement Photos

The BEAUTIFUL Ring!!
The beautiful Ring 🙂
Celebrating in Georgetown
Celebrating in Georgetown

Posted on March 1, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Yay! I’ve seen this engagement on facebook, email, txt/pix message, on the phone, email and here, and I can’t get enough! I’m so happy for you two! We will def be there to help you celebrate your big day!

Leave a Reply

