The busiest time of year…almost

I’m not quite sure what happended to posting once a week, but waiting 4 weeks now leaves me with too much to catch up on!

We got the professional photos from the blessing in the UK. Here is one of my favorites:

Check out the rest here. The photographer did an incredible job, I couldn’t be happier with his work. He was so great at capturing candid’s with some great expressions on people’s faces. I will love all of our wedding photos forever.

As much fun as we had, man am I glad that we don’t have to do it again! I can’t wait to be the guest at someone else’s wedding! Does that sound strange? I want to dance, eat and relax!

For my office, October – January is the busiest time of year, getting ready for our big show, CES. I’ll be headed to Las Vegas Jan. 7-14 to work on it and our whole company is going crazy getting ready for it. We are working on it all year long, but the last few months are usually really stressful.

Lucky for me, I work mostly on the membership side (opposite of the show, CES) so my big event was Industry Forum, which took place in San Diego, october 23-26.  Here are some pictures from the event, just to give you an idea of what it was like. This year was a huge success. It was my first year working on the event and I had full responsibility for all the marketing, which my boss has always done. It’s so rewarding to see all of your hard work pay off at an event like that. Printed materials, booth graphics, signs – it’s nice to see physical evidence! I even got to play Vanna White for our big awards dinner – ha. Apparently this was a big deal to some people…

Unfortunately I didn’t have time to leave the hotel and see any of San Diego, so next year Jonathan and I think he’ll fly out for the end and meet me there for a few days vacation. It will be in San Francisco in 2012, so that will be fun to explore.

Speaking of extending work trips — we’re thinking about going to the Grand Canyon after CES. Maybe he’ll fly into Vegas on my last day of work, then well rent a car and head out, it’s about a 5 hour drive, and spend a few days there. I think the Mule rides down into the Canyon look really cool. We would definitely stop at the Hoover Dam on the way. Seems like a good time to go see these things, the desert in January will be cooler and much less tourists than the summer.  I’m getting kind of excited about that.

We’re both trying to loose some weight and just get healthier. Since the hot yoga and Special K diet really worked to help me fit into my dress for the blessing, I’ve kept it up and it’s still working! I have been enjoying Lululemon jackets and how good class makes me feel afterwards. I got 3-4 times a week and the biggest challenge is that it is ALWAYS a challenge and that you can’t know what to expect. Honestly, every class is different (even though it’s the same poses, the same time, the same heat) and it all depends on how you’re feeling that day. Did you drink enough water before class? What did you eat today? How are you feeling emotionally? All of these things are factors. It’s so easy to set expectations and then you won’t meet them and then no matter how good class was, you’ll be disappointed. It’s been a good exercise for me mentally and physically. Another positive is I’ve been able to buy smaller clothes! Size medium! I haven’t bought medium in more than a year, if not two years. It’s pretty gratifying, but scary at the same time. You always wonder if you took a risk buying something small and soon it won’t be able to fit again. eeek. medium, size 8, no more 12’s…it’s pretty nice. My goal is size 6.

While I was in San Diego Jono bought a fancy bike and started biking to work! He’s gotten into it and has been biking about 14 miles/day and then usually a longer, 30 mile, ride on the weekends. He’s also been going to the gym after biking home! To me, that’s too much, but it’s healthy for now, so I can’t complain.

My newest obsession has been photography. I’ve always loved it but recently I got to borrow and Nikon D3100 from the office’s Check it Out program. I used it for Industry Forum and kind of fell in love with it. Here are a few albums of photos I’ve taken with it.

Fall Sunday in Capitol Hill.

ASTA Party

November Bocce

Molly had a Cannon T3i and so she and I went out on saturday and played with both, to see the differences and man, hers is amazing! Here are some of the photos from that trip.

Anyway, the cannon is definitely on my xmas list. Or at least a contribution to one!

Posted on November 14, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

