Preparing for CES

This is the first year where my job is actually consuming more of my life than Christmas or holidays! In my last job our office was closed the week between Christmas and New Years so we had to take vacation no matter what. At CEA our big show is in early January that we take all year to prepare for. It’s an understatement to say that December is a busy month. I did manage to get all my Christmas shopping done by December 17 and just mailed out the last of my cards today, so it hasn’t been too bad.  I just can’t seem to focus on Christmas! It’s as if I see right past it and just see CES. On Friday we’re headed to Boston to visit my mom’s side of the family. Jono and I will fly early in the morning and get there around 8am and have all day to explore the city in it’s Christmas glory before my parents arrive. I’m really excited about that, but I think Christmas won’t ‘sink in’ until we’re at the airport!

Since CES is in January, staff are always talking about keeping our health up, getting flu shots and lots of vitamins so that we don’t get sick at the show. It’s such a busy, stressful time in the middle of cold season that it’s tough not to get sick. My efforts include the flu shot, lots of water (that I drink for hot yoga anyway), hot yoga to sweat it all out and get exercise at the same time and gummy vitamins! Here is my little CES army at my desk today: 

First we have 1-a-day gummy vitamins with immunity support. Next is Gatorade to drink 2 hrs before hot yoga so I have enough electrolytes to stave off a major headache from dehydration. After that comes my liter water bottle that I take with me everywhere. At the moment it has Berocca in it — the English version of Airborne. And of course, whole grain gold fish as my afternoon snack. You can see the hand sanitizer in the background….Whew!

Posted on December 21, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

