Summer update

It finally getting hot here and it’s miserable. In the low 100’s. I think its 103 right now. ugh. I get every-other friday off and today was one of them. I got a haircut and volunteered at the animal shelter. Last week on thursday I was volunteering there and got bitten by one of the cats. He had just had enough. One minute was asking for attention and rubbing his face on my hand and then suddenly bit me. Unfortunately he punctured my finger and I had to go to urget care. With any animal bite you’re supposed to get immediate attention. Apparently there is so much bacteria in all animals mouths that it is REALLY easy and almost guaranteed to cause an infection. So they gave me a tetanus shot and a 10-day, every 12 hrs, antibiotic course. I’ll be done with the medication on sunday and can’t wait. It has really messed with my stomach all week. Saturday we were going to meet a friend for brunch so I went to work out before hand so I could earn points to eat a good brunch. I took the antibiotic at 8am, ate a small breakfast since it says to take with food, then did a normal workout. 30 min on the elliptical and a 60-min spin class. The minute I got home, I threw up. 😦 I haven’t done that in 4 years! ugh, I hate it, so much. This meant brunch was out of the question and I spent the next few days really wary of my body and this medication. I haven’t been to the gym since, which is really strange now. I don’t think I’ve gone a whole week without the gym since March. What an odd week it’s been, body wise.

2 weeks ago was Father’s Day, so dad and I went to the Udvar-Hazy Air and Space hangar out in Dulles that has all of the actual planes. It was pretty cool. They also had the space shuttle that was just brought back from orbit this spring.

Last sunday, we took Jono to his first game at Camden Yards. It was REALLY hot, but we had a good time.

Then last night we got to go to the annual Congressional baseball game at Nats stadium which was pretty cool, with our friend Ben. The Dems and the Republicans each put together a team (of all congress members) and play each other. IT was pretty cool The Dems beat the Republicans pretty bad, 18-5. It was just $10 (that goes to charity) and general admission, so we got to sit really close. It was also excellent people watching. A LOT of young staffers and interns who were really dressed up, carrying coach purses and wearing really nice suits. See the congressen?

 

I’m excited to have taken all of next week off! Mom and Dad are headed to Martha’s Vineyard mon-fri and I’m joining them to visit Toni (who has a house there), Janet, grandma and who ever else form mom’s side shows up. I know a few more of her siblings will be there. It’ll be a fun, relaxing week of family, beach and weather in the low 80’s – high 70s! WOOOO! I don’t think I’ve been to the vineyard since I was a kid, I can’t even remember the last time. Mom’s parents live in Falmouth, the town on the Cape where you get the ferry to the Vineyard, along with one of her sisters, Janet. Another of her sisters, Toni, lives outside Boston and owns a house there that they go to all the time. They’ve had it since before I was born.

Weight watcher’s is going well. 20 lbs down since March! WOW! 8lbs to go to my goal weight. Whew. I’m kind of worried about keeping on track while on vacation, so we’ll see. I’m hoping to try and get some kind of exercise in during the week. At least a lot of walking. I’m also concerned about maintaining it, so we’ll see how it goes.

Posted on June 29, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment